Suite for Guitar

Solo Guitar (2013)

I. Toy
II. Tranquillo
III. Pavana comentada
IV. Tanz

Dedicated to my nephew Anthony.

Score Sample

Duration: c. 7-8 minutes

Categories: , Tags: ,

This Suite for Guitar is based loosely on three well‐known lute/vihuela pieces by Renaissance composers, and also includes one movement without an historical reference.

For the most part I have left the tempos and the dynamics for performers to create their own interpretation—although I have added some details to the third movement in order to bring out the dual nature of “original” and “commentary” implied in the music.

The durations at the end of each movement are merely suggestions, and do not have to be adhered to in a literal fashion.