Sonata for Cello and Piano

Cello and Piano (2008)

I. Andante
II. Allegretto
III. Cadenza: Poco agitato, liberamente
IV. Allegro molto

Written for and premiered by the Duo Hermida-Ito on June 5, 2010 in the Escuela Nacional de Música de la UNAM, Mexico City, as part of the Foro Internacional de Música Nueva “Manuel Enríquez.”

Score Sample

Duration: c. 20 minutes

Categories: , Tags: ,

Continuing a collaboration that began with my arrival to Mexico in 1996, the Sonata for Cello and Piano is my fifth work written for the cellist Juan Hermida.

It consists of four sections that follow a plan of high degrees of contrast explored in much of my recent music. The movements are linked together, in the form of a crescendo as the energy increases continuously up to the end. Following this idea the Sonata begins with an Andante leading to a slight Allegretto. The third movement corresponds to a cadenza for the cello, written in full, but which invites a very free interpretation. The cadenza leads into the last movement suddenly: an Allegro molto with some elements of jazz and rock music that appear both in the harmonies and in the use of pentatonic repetitive figures.

The work is dedicated to the Duo Hermida-Ito.