Port Townsend Preludes

Solo Piano (2001)

I. Gently moving forward
II. Allegretto
III. Non troppo lento
IV. Allegro vivace
V. Slow, delicately

Dedicated to Luisa and written while in residence at Centrum Arts in Port Townsend, WA.

Score Sample

Duration: c. 7 minutes

While unpacking my bags upon arrival for a three-week composer residency at Centrum Arts in Port Townsend, WA, I realized that I had forgotten to bring my copy of Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier.

This was depressing, since I would be locked in a cabin with a piano (I’ve been without a piano in my house for the last six years), and I was looking forward to playing through something besides the orchestral piece I was writing. Quite unexpectedly, these pieces appeared during my breaks: I guess I just needed something else to play. This should also give you an idea of my level of talent as a pianist!