A Bonsai Garden, Set VIII

Quintet (2013)
Flute, B-flat Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano

I. Allegro moderato
II. Lento
III. Allegro molto leggiero
IV. Scorrevole
V. Moderately slow eight note = c. 80-88
VI. Fast, light and fragile
VII. Lento, con rubato
VIII. Moderately fast
IX. Loosely together
X. Allegro arrabbiato
XI. Andante grazioso
XII. Allegro eight note = c. 240
XIII. half note = c. 52 Delicatamente

Dedicated to my parents.

Score Sample

Duration: c. 19 minutes

A Bonsai Garden, Set VIII continues my exploration of the musical miniature through a process that juxtaposes highly contrasting moods and compositional techniques.

While moving between the concrete and the abstract, the thirteen movements of this set dance between the tonal and the atonalAnd regular rhythms alternate with irregular rhythmsto the point that in the ninth move the instruments seem barely coordinated.At the same time, although this exploration pushes at the limits of coherenceI could not prevent the outbreak an “I” that sails across my broad musical tastes. I find that I cannot avoid myself, but I cannot stop being a musical omnivore.

A Bonsai Garden, Set VIII is dedicated to the memory of my parents.